Throughout Bangladesh, Chapai Nawabganj is known as the “City of Mango”. Every year Chapai Nawabganj produces a huge amount of Mangoes that are similar to no other district in Bangladesh.
Here is the list of Chapai Nawabganj Tourist Spots that you should visit –
10 Most Famous Chapai Nawabganj Tourist Spots To Go
1.Buba Daing Picnic/বাবুডাইং
Babudaing Picnic Spot is located in the natural beautiful hilly forest land at Jhelim Union, 10 km from Champainawganj district.
This hilly forest land of the Barendra region covers about 300 acres of land covering Godagadi and parts of ChampaiNawabganj Sadar Upazila in Rajshahi.
Located just above the terrain are the high and low parts of the east-built mound, also known as babudaing, located at the end of the forest.
Looking down from this square, you will see the strangely beautiful forest swaying to impress tourists. Across this forest, you will see various birds and several pleasant waterfalls known and unknown to the trees in front of them.
In addition, a cross dam has been constructed on a two and a half km long lake naturally developed in the middle of the forest. Through this dam, the land is irrigated using lake water.
The water in this fast-flowing dam looks like a waterfall from a distance. You have to cross this dam and walk through the grass on both sides to the Babudaing picnic spot.
Surrounded by various species of vegetation built under the Government of Bangladesh, the picnic spot is home to some tribal populations.
About 25 years ago, about 1.5 lakh saplings and 5 ponds were excavated at this Babudaing picnic spot by The Barendra Multipurpose Development (BMDA). At present, there are plans to build a cantonment for the Bangladesh army here.
- It is better to go for a group walk at the Babudaing picnic spot.
- There is often an upsurge of bad people in the forest, so be careful not to go too deep.
People Also Read: Amazing 8 Top Tourist Attractions To Visit In Rajshahi
2.Shah Niyamatullah’s Shrine/শাহ নেয়ামত উল্লাহর সমাধি
Hazrat Shah Nayamatullah’s Shrine is located at Tahakhana Complex, just half a kilometer from the Small Sona Masjid Shivganj Upazila of Champainbabganj district. It is well known as an ancient artifact of Mughal architecture.
Hazrat Shah Syed Nayamatullah (may Allah have mercy on him) was one of the famous Sadhakas of the 16th century. He was the descendant of the World Prophet Muhammad and, on the one hand, a masculine Oli, a scholar, and a spiritual guru.
During the reign of Sultan Shah Souza, he traveled from Coronia in Delhi to various places and reached the palace of Ferozepur.
Bongo Sultan Shah Souza received him with great respect and received the bayat. Later, he preached Islam with a reputation for 33 long years by establishing a permanent Asthana on the outskirts of Gaur in Ferozepur.
He was buried at the site after he died in 1080 Hijri.
30-35 meters north of that place is a dome-built building on the high-rise brick of The Tomb of Shah Nayamatullah, surrounded by the mosque’s wall.
Surrounded by trees and brick walls, the square-designed tomb has a length of 49 feet on each arm. There are 12 archways on the east, west, and south side of the tomb.
That is why this shrine is called Barduari. The main room of the tomb is adorned with wide verandahs, various flowers, leaf trees.
It is believed that the tomb of Khadem and the family members of Hazrat Shah Syed Nayamatullah (may Allah have mercy on him) is believed to be in the tomb premises.
On the day of the birth and death of Shah Nayamat Ullah, “Orsh” is celebrated at this shrine every year. Legend has it that Hazrat Shah Nayamat Ullah first entered the city of Gaur on the last Friday of the month of Bhadra to spread Islam.
Every day, numerous devotees and visitors from far and wide gather at the shrine of this great seeker.
People Also Read: The 7 Popular Joypurhat Tourist Spots You Should See, Rajshahi
The traditional Mughal Tohakhana or Tohakhana complex is located in Shahabazpur Union of Shivganj Upazila of Champainawganj district.
The distance from Chapai Nawabganj to Tohakhana is about 35 km. The Persian word Tohakhana means cold building or palace.
Sultan Shah Suja, the son of Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan, built the 3-storey thermally controlled palace in Ferozepur to facilitate the winter residence of his Murshid Syed Nyamatullah.
According to various historical sources, the Tohakhana was built in 1639-1658.
Shah Suja stayed in a spacious room in the middle of the building to vacation in Tohakhana. Inside the Tohakhana complex are several unnamed tombs.
These are considered to be the khadems or companions of Hazrat Shah Syed Nayamatullah. The Tohakhana complex also includes three dome mosques, wells, and a dome tomb.
People Also Read: 8 Best Tourist Places To See In Natore, Rajshahi
4.Three Dome Mosques/তিন গম্বুজ মসজিদ
Three Dome Mosques (Tin Gombuj Masjid), one of the oldest structures of the Mughal period, is located at Ferozepur in Shahbazpur Union of Shivganj Upazila of Champainawganj district.
Bengal Sultan Shah Souza built the mosque addressed by Shah Syed Nyamatullah, a famous Islamic preacher of the Middle Ages.
The historic archaeological site, listed by the Department of Archaeology in Bangladesh, is also known as Shah Nayamat Ullah Mosque.
The rectangular three dome mosque has a huge mosque room, 3 mihrab, and 3 entrances to the front. The middle door of the 3 entrances is relatively large.
Near the mosque are the tomb of Shah Nayamat Ullah and a two-story edifice of the Mughal period built by Sultan Shah Souza. The sultan Shah Souza’s building, 116 feet in length and 38 feet in width, is known as “Tahakhana.”
The three domes belong to the mosque, the palace, and the tomb of Shah Nayamat Ullah belong to the Tahakhana complex. Sultan Shah Souza built this building to facilitate his Morshed Hazrat Shah Nayamat Ullah’s stay in the winter.
People Also Read: 9 Worth Visiting Best Tourist Places In Naogaon, Rajshahi
5.Tomb of Bir Shrestha Mohiuddin Jahangir/বীরশ্রেষ্ঠ মহিউদ্দিন জাহাঙ্গীরের সমাধি
During the day, you can find Captain Mohiuddin Jahangir resting in peace in the small Sona Masjid complex in Shahbazpur Union in Shivganj Upazila Champainnawganj district.
Born in Rahmatganj village of Barisal, the brave child of Bengal was martyred in 1971 when he destroyed the enemy’s defense system near the Mahananda river with an enemy bullet.
Jahangir Gate, the main gate of the Dhaka cantonment, has been named in honor of the great hero.
In 1971, captain Mohiuddin Jahangir entered Bangladesh via India from the Sialkot border, ignoring the attention of the hill border guards in the wake of the brutal destruction and brutal torture of the invaders.
He served as the Captain of the Liberation Army in Sector 7 of Champainbabganj border area of Rajshahi district at the behest of the independent Bangladesh Army.
His intelligent attack led to a series of declines in the impregnable bases of the opponent’s invaders. On December 12, 1971, the Mukti Bahini attacked the Champainbabganj district under his leadership.
On the morning of December 14, Captain Mohiuddin Jahangir crossed the Mahananda River and proceeded forward to wipe out the impregnable base of enemy soldiers.
A sniper bullet from the Pakistani forces suddenly hit his body while wiping out one enemy after another with infinite valor.
Captain Mohiuddin Jahangir’s body lay motionless. According to his final wish, his comrades recovered his body on December 15 and have brought it to the historical Sona Masjid premises to be buried there with due respect.
Independent Bangladesh later awarded him the title of Bir Shrestha for his outstanding contribution.
People Also Read: The 6 Famous Top Tourist Places In Pabna, Rajshahi
6.Khoniadighi Mosque/খনিয়া দীঘি মসজিদ
Khaniyadighi Masjid (Khoniadighi Mosque), located in Shivaganj in Champai Nawabganj district, is an ancient historical architectural artifact in Bangladesh.
The distance of the Khaniyadighi Mosque from Champai Nawabganj district headquarters is 36 km. The ancient mosque is well known to the locals as Rajbibi Mosque and Chamchika Masjid.
The Khaniyadighi Mosque was built from 1450 to 1565 during the Gauro capital.
The length of the Khaniyadighi Mosque is 62 feet, and the width is 42 feet. The use of stones in pillars and the cornices of mosques adorned with terracotta and brick designs can be observed.
Built-in Mughal architecture, each arm of the main square room of the Khaniyadighi Mosque is 28 feet long. The mosque walls are about 7 feet wide, so the atmosphere inside the mosque remains cool even in the scorching heat.
The main mosque has a giant dome on the roof and 3 small-sized domes on the verandah roof. And the giant Dighi next to the mosque is called Khania Dighi.
People Also Read: 11 Mind-Blowing Top Tourist Places In Bogra District, Rajshahi
7.Kansat Mango Market/Kansat Aam Bazar/কানসাট আম বাজার
Champai Nawganj district is called the capital of mango. And that Chapai Nawabganj district is the largest mango market in Bangladesh, sitting in Kansat in Shivganj Upazila.
Mangoes are sold for over Rs 100 crore in this large mango market every mango season. This mango market accumulates every day from dawn to evening during mango time.
Rajshahi and Champai Nawabganj have many mango markets, but the Kansat mango market is the largest and most famous for wholesale markets.
It’s like a mango kingdom. As soon as you visit the mango market, you can buy and eat various fresh ripe mangoes if you want. You can also buy mangoes for yourself by filling baskets.
Time to go
Mangoes started coming mainly to this market after they ripen. Usually, the Kansat market is full of mangoes from the last week of May to July. But the whole time of June is the most vibrant.
People Also Read: 5 Best Tourist Attractions In Sirajganj District, Rajshahi
8.Alpona Village Tikoil/Alpona Gram Tikoil/আল্পনা গ্রাম টিকইল
Tikoil is a small village in Nachol Upazila of Champainnawganj district. And every wall in Tikoil village is like an open canvas. On that canvas, the people of Tikoil village make all the aesthetic alpanas bloom.
So the village has become known to numerous people at home and abroad as Alpana Village (The Alpona Village/A village of Alpona).
Housewives and girls mainly paint Alpanas. For years, they have been nurturing their tradition on the walls of houses for generations. The walls of every earthen house, painted with cotton scratches, are not even left out of the touch of the alpana.
Alpanas are painted in earthen rooms with the colors they make, and the main raw material for drawing alpana comes from the soil.
Once upon a time, chalk, girimati, color, and tarpin oil were used to draw these alpanas. But the stability of those alpanas was low, so at present, the mixture is made of girimati, dried barai churna adhesive, mango old stick shas churn, chalk powder, different colors, mankchu, and banana tree kosh is soaked for 4 to 5 days, and the alpana is drawn. And this alpana lasts for more than a year.
Locals believe these alpanas bring sanctity to the house, and all family members are cheered. But the village people have no specific idea of how such a tradition was born in Tikoil village.
Nevertheless, they continue to preserve their ancestors’ traditions on various festivals, festivals, and joyous occasions.
- Avoid doing things that cause problems for the people of the village.
- Take permission before taking videos or pictures of the people of the village.
- Be nice to the residents of the village.
9.Darasbari Mosque/দারাসবাড়ি মসজিদ
Darasbari Masjid is located near Ampur in Champai Nawabganj Sadar. Residents know the site of this mosque as Darasbari.
According to the inscription on the mosque, the Darasbari Mosque was built in 1497 under the rule of Sultan Shamsuddin Yusuf. Initially, the mosque was called Ferozepur Mosque, but after the establishment of Darasbari Madrassa in 1504, the name Darasbari Mosque came to be known in the mouths of the people.
The Darasbari Mosque made of terracotta bricks has many similarities with the Chamchika Mosque in India. The rectangle inside the mosque is divided into two parts, and its main dome looks very attractive.
The Darasbari Mosque has a balcony 99 feet 5 inches in length and 34 feet 9 inches in width, and 10 feet 7 inches to the mosque’s east.
There are a total of 9 crafted mihrabs in the mosque. And to the north of the mosque is a huge Dighi of about 60 bighas in size.
The Togra-inspired Yusufi Shahi script from the historic Darasbari Mosque is currently preserved in the Kolkata Museum.
People Also Read: Amazing!! The Top 34 Best Travel Destinations In Bangladesh
10.Choto Sona Masjid/ছোট সোনা মসজিদ
The small Sona Masjid (Choto Sona Mosque) is known as the jewel of Sultani architecture in Shahbazpur Union of Shivganj Upazila in Champainnawganj district of Rajshahi division.
Inscriptions placed on the main entrance of the Small Sona Mosque show that between 1493 and 1519, during the reign of Sultan Husain Shah, one Mansoor Wali Muhammad bin Ali built the small Sona mosque.
One common practice is to wrap the domes of the mosque in gold once it is completed. Together with another gold mosque near the Bangladesh-India border, this mosque became known for all as the Small Sona Masjid.
The front courtyard of the mosque extends from west to east 42 meters and from south to north 43.5 meters.
A granite tile has been used in the Gold Mosque. The small gold mosque built in Sultani architectural style has 12 domes made of bricks.
And the walls around the mosque are about 6 feet wide and covered with stone tile inside and outside. There are 4 detention minarets in the four corners of the mosque.
There are 5 arch entrances to the east of the small Sona mosque and 3 each to the south and north. There are 5 mihrabs designed on the walls of the direct west side of the east entrance.
The distance from Dhaka to Champainawganj is about 302 km, and the distance from Rajshahi to Chapai Nawganj is 319 km.
The small Sona Masjid has located only 3 km from Kotwali Gate in Champainnawganj district and half a kilometer from the Tahkhana complex.
On the north side of the mosque is a huge Dighi. On the west side of the mosque is a modern guest house built by the archaeological authority of the Government of Bangladesh.
At present, the Archaeological Department of the Government of Bangladesh is overseeing the historic Small Gold Mosque.